× Home Calendar Courses VitalStim® Info VitalStim® Registry Products About Us Our Mission Message from the President FAQs/Forms Toys & Tools Search Contact Login
  • BACK

    Breathing Attacks! Differential Diagnosis and Speech Treatment of Vocal Cord Dysfunction

  • RESOURCES & DISCIPLINES       Bring This Course to You!

    Resources


    Course Calendar

    AddEvent
    Add to Calendar 07/17/2021 09:00 AM 07/17/2021 11:00 AM America/New_York Breathing Attacks! Differential Diagnosis and Speech Treatment of Vocal Cord Dysfunction Hotel:
    Phone: 850-916-8886
    CIAO Studios CIAO Seminars, Inc mail@ciaoseminars.com false MM/DD/YYYY


    Printer Friendly

    Appropriate Disciplines


    • Speech Language Pathologist
    • Speech Language Pathology Asst

Course Description

There are two ways to participate in this live stream event (BOTH count as LIVE CE):
  1. in the LIVE STUDIO audience in Gulf Breeze, Florida - Studio audience seats are limited - so register today!
  2. via LIVE STREAM around the world - Live stream participants will login to access the event from their computer and interact with the instructor.

This live stream course is offered twice, once on July 16 and again on July 17:
OPTION 1: July 16, 2021 is from 12pm – 2:00pm CDT

(1pm – 3pm EDT, 11am – 1pm MDT, 10am – 12pm PDT)
OPTION 2: July 17, 2021 is from 9am – 11am CDT
(10am – 12pm EDT, 8am – 10am MDT, 6am – 8am PDT)

Vocal Cord Dysfunction (VCD) is an inappropriate closure of the vocal cords during respiration, creating an airway obstruction that most significantly affects athletes during activity. VCD is often misdiagnosed as asthma, often leading to ineffective treatment. The speech pathologist plays a vital role working within a multidisciplinary team to effectively teach and communicate a treatment plan ensuring optimal care and outcomes for these patients. This introductory level course will discuss techniques for identifying and diagnosing VCD, provide a step-by-step treatment approach, and address making referrals as necessary.

Course Objectives

Upon successful completion of this course, participants will be able to:

  • Define the population most often diagnosed with VCD
  • Identify symptoms of VCD
  • Evaluate the differential diagnosis between asthma and VCD
  • Distinguish the effectiveness of strategies used to treat VCD
  • Select appropriate referrals if VCD is suspected

Allison Brown

Allison Tidwell Brown, MS, CCC-SLP, BCS-S, is a Speech Language Pathologist and Board-Certified Specialist in Swallowing and Swallowing Disorders. Her clinical focus is with infant feeding, GI, saliva management, and instrumental assessment of the swallow including VFSS. She has helped develop several programs and clinics including a multidisciplinary saliva management program. She is a lead outpatient feeding therapist for Children's Health in Dallas, TX. Allison also teaches a graduate course in Pediatric Dysphagia at the University of Texas at Dallas.

Financial Disclosure: Allison receives an honorarium from CIAO for the presentation of her live courses. She also receives royalties for the sale of her online courses.
Non-Financial Disclosure: no relevant disclosures.

Day 1

08:58 - 08:59
OPTION 2: July 17 Live Stream will begin at 9am Central, 10am Eastern, 8am Mountain, 7am Pacific (This course is a repeat of July 16th.)
09:00 - 09:05
Introduction and objectives
09:05 - 09:30
Defining vocal cord dysfunction
09:30 - 10:00
Symptoms and differential diagnosis
10:00 - 10:30
Multidisciplinary intervention of VCD
10:30 - 10:50
Case studies; research
10:50 - 11:00
Q&A
11:58 - 11:59
OPTION 1: July 16 Live Stream will begin at 12pm Central, 1pm Eastern, 11am Mountain, 10am Pacific (This course repeats on July 17th.)
12:00 - 12:05
Introduction and objectives
12:05 - 12:30
Defining vocal cord dysfunction
12:30 - 01:00
Symptoms and differential diagnosis
01:00 - 01:30
Multidisciplinary intervention of VCD
01:30 - 01:50
Case studies; research
01:50 - 02:00
Q&A

Delivery VIA:

  • Live By Request - This course is available to come to you! Contact us to see how easy that can be.
  • Live Stream - This course is offered from our Live Stream studio. Watch and interact with the instructor from wherever you are or join us as part of the studio audience in sunny Gulf Breeze, FL.

Contact hours pre-approved for:

  • 2 Contact Hours
  • CIAO is an ASHA Approved Provider #AAWA (0.2 ASHA CEUs) bubble sheet submission required
  • ASHA CE Provider Approval and use of the Brand Block does not imply endorsement of course content, specific products, or clinical procedures.


Introductory Level
0.2 ASHA CEUs


Reviews

"Excellent course, excellent presenter who gave a comprehensive presentation in a straight-forward and friendly manner."

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Oct 2017

"I thought this was a great course! Very informative and straightforward. "

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Oct 2017

"Very informative. Great presentation. Appreciated the fact that you reviewed what you do during the eval and the treatment sessions. Very helpful. Also appreciate the app and You tube recommendations. Thank you, Allison!"

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Oct 2017

"Thank you!! Very informative and interesting training. "

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Oct 2017

"Such a great way to learn!!! Loved the cost and the quality of the course. Times offered were great for those of us that work full time and cannot always participate during the weekday. "

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Oct 2017