• BACK

    Enhancing Therapy Outcomes with the Abilex Oral-Motor Exerciser

  • RESOURCES & DISCIPLINES      

    Appropriate Disciplines


    • Speech Language Pathologist
    • Speech Language Pathology Asst

Course Description

ATTENTION: We have had to move all 9:00 AM participants into the 11:00 AM event. Our instructor was stuck in Atlanta last night and is flying in on the earliest flight this morning! Unfortunately, she will miss the scheduled 9:00 event. The 11 AM, 2 PM, and 4 PM events are still good to go. Anyone registered for the 9 - please check your email for further instructions.

There are two ways to participate in this live stream event (BOTH count as LIVE CEUs!):
  1. in the LIVE STUDIO audience in Gulf Breeze, Florida - Studio audience seats are limited - so register today!
  2. via LIVE STREAM around the world - Live stream participants will login to access the event from their computer and interact with the instructor.

Available 4 times:
  • 09:00 AM Central (10:00 AM Eastern; 08:00 AM Mountain; 07:00 AM Pacific)
  • 11:00 AM Central (12:00 PM Eastern; 10:00 AM Mountain; 09:00 AM Pacific)
  • 02:00 PM Central (03:00 PM Eastern; 01:00 PM Mountain; 12:00 AM Pacific)
  • 04:00 PM Central (05:00 PM Eastern; 03:00 PM Mountain; 02:00 PM Pacific)


This introductory level course for Speech-Language Pathologists will focus on the neurophysiological principles of oral motor exercise, as well as introduce the Abilex Oral Exerciser to improve motor speech and swallowing function. The Abilex device and protocol allow for repeatable and challenging resistance training exercise during treatment and at home to facilitate functional improvements. Clinical rationales for use with various patient populations including those with Dysphagia, Oral Apraxia, and Dysarthria due to Stroke, Traumatic Brain Injury, and Facial palsy will be presented in detail. Opportunities to discuss current research, sample documentation, home exercise compliance, and patient education will also be provided in this course to offer SLP's a new and innovative treatment option for patients.
Disclosure: This presentation will focus exclusively on the Abilex Oral-Motor Exerciser and will not include information on other similar or related products.

Course Objectives

Upon successful completion of this course, participants will be able to:

  • Verbalize the key neurophysiological and practical principles relevant to the use of Oral-Motor Exercise in the treatment of motor speech and swallowing disorders.
  • Summarize the key findings of recent publications on the topic of exercise in related motor speech and swallowing treatment.
  • Summarize the key findings of recent publications on the topic of exercise in related motor speech and swallowing treatment.
  • Demonstrate the correct treatment protocol for the Abilex Oral Exerciser in the treatment of motor speech and swallowing impairments.
  • Verbalize the clinical rationale for use of the Abilex Oral Exerciser and other devices in the treatment of Dysarthria, Oral Apraxia, and Dysphagia.

Gina Gallo

M.S. CCC-SLP, NDC

Gina E. Gallo was educated at the University of Rhode Island where she received her B.S. in Communication Disorders and her M.S. in Speech-Language Pathology. Gina has worked as a medical Speech-Language Pathologist since 1998 across various levels of care, concentrating in swallowing and voice disorders. She is a Certified VitalStim Instructor and uses Neuromuscular Electrical Stimulation in her clinical practice at Spaulding Outpatient Center. Gina recently became one of the first SLPs to earn the NDC credential (NMES for Dysphagia Certified). She has worked extensively with patients diagnosed with head and neck cancer, and previously served on Head and Neck Tumor Board at Rhode Island Hospital. She has also served as a guest lecturer for the Southern New England Rehab Center annual conference, and as Adjunct Faculty at the University of Rhode Island in the area of Voice Disorders.

Financial Disclosure: Gina receives honoraria from CIAO Seminars for the presentation of this course. She also receives royalties for the purchase of her recorded course(s)
Non-Financial Disclosure: Gina uses VitalStim Therapy in her practice.

Day 1

09:00 - 09:10
Neurophysiological Principles of oral-motor exercises
09:10 - 09:20
Discuss current oral-motor exercise research related to Motor Speech and Dysphagia treatment
09:20 - 09:40
Introduce the Abilex Oral Exerciser device, clinical rationales, and treatment protocol including Home Exercise Program
09:40 - 09:50
Provide and review sample Documentation
09:50 - 10:00
Question and Answer

Contact hours pre-approved for:

  • 0.1 CEUs (1.0 hours)
  • This course is offered for 0.1 ASHA CEUs (Introductory level, Professional area)
  • CIAO is an ASHA Approved Provider #AAWA (SLPs) Bubble Sheet required


This course is offered for 0.1 ASHA CEUs (Introductory level, Professional area)


Reviews

"Thanks for the FREE CEU! Much appreciated to see a variety in the free courses offered :)"

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018

"Thanks for providing an efficient and educational course in an hour!"

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018

"I often question how to get these devices to pts. It is hard because some facilities/companies do not know about these products--so getting them to the patient the legality/paperwork aspect of getting the device is difficult. I will work to understand this part of the process. "

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018

"Great inservice. Much appreciate CIAO offering the range of live stream CEU"s!"

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018

"I love everything about this presentation. I think the more times we emphasize the rehabilitation of muscles based on physiology the more rehabilitative speech therapy will be. I think the presenter was obviously very knowledgable, however super nervous which was at times distracting with her breath control. But overall, I love having another tool in the tool kit that really focuses on strength training."

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018

"I love that CIAO offers these very functional, very direct, very accessible courses. The presenter did an excellent job. She was brief and to the point and offered wonderful information without going over the top. Nice job!"

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018

"Great having these free learning opportunities! Especially like having the opportunity to see new products before deciding whether to purchase. Thank you!!"

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018

"I am always tweeking and expanding my skills with ongoing seminars; CIAO has always provided ongoing progressive and hands on strategies via seminars . "

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018

"Great and convenient; informative on basics as well as aspects of the oral motor mechanism I had not yet done a deep dive in due to the polar and split nature of my current client base. Would love more of these evidence based "quickies" that can easily be fit in to my work day! Thank you!"

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018

"My first live Seminar and I must say it was super easy and convenient. Great experience."

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018

"I really enjoy the hour long seminars and hope they continue to offer more hour long sessions. It is easier to work in one hour during the work day throughout the year and more affordable. I would really love to see other training/reviews with IOP and other voice treatments that are not Lee Silverman Loud. These devices are very expensive and it would be nice to get some initial training and have a video to show administrative staff to get approval to purchase, especially in a skilled nursing setting with a very limited budget."

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018

"This course was much needed! I enjoy learning about new therapy tools to utilize with my clients who need intense oral motor therapy. Thank you and I look forward to more courses in the future!!!"

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018

"Overall the presentation provided good information and examples on how to use the Abilex. "

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018

"Information presented was a good balance of factual information and practical experience! I’m hesitant to mention but wanting to encourage and assist presenter by suggesting she work on breath support and gestures. Both were distracting to me as an SLP. She sounded out of breath throughout. I have the same problem when presenting. Take more brief breaks with rhetorical questions and a sip of water, reduce rate of speech. Also, minimize gestures. Your content is great, no gestural information needed."

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018

"Excellent information. I hope further research is done for the pediatric and those individuals with cognitive challenges. Thank you!"

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018

"Great course! Glad to see a device that the patient can have/use indepentently rather than tongue depressors, life savers and the spongy sticks! "

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018

"I'm anxiously awaiting for a pediatric size :-) "

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018

"Excellent presentation by the speaker and host. Very impressed with the quality and I will consider becoming a membership to obtain additional ASHA CEUs. "

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018

"Great course! It was a good refresher and Abilex appears to be a great tool to use to help facilitate oral strengthening!"

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018

"Thank you for the opportunity to learn more about Abilex."

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018

"I enjoyed the cranial nerve implementation and review. "

- Live Streaming or Studio Audience, FL / Nov 2018