× Home Calendar Courses VitalStim® Info VitalStim® Registry Products About Us Our Mission Message from the President FAQs/Forms Toys & Tools Search Contact Login
  • BACK

    Dysphagia Dilemmas: Clinical and Instrumental Management of Pediatric Swallowing

  • RESOURCES & DISCIPLINES       Bring This Course to You!

    Resources


    Course Calendar

    AddEvent
    Add to Calendar 07/16/2021 08:00 AM 07/16/2021 11:30 AM America/New_York Dysphagia Dilemmas: Clinical and Instrumental Management of Pediatric Swallowing Hotel:
    Phone: 850-916-8886
    CIAO Studios CIAO Seminars, Inc mail@ciaoseminars.com false MM/DD/YYYY


    Printer Friendly

    Appropriate Disciplines


    • Speech Language Pathologist
    • Speech Language Pathology Asst

Course Description

There are two ways to participate in this live stream event (BOTH count as LIVE CE):
  1. in the LIVE STUDIO audience in Gulf Breeze, Florida - Studio audience seats are limited - so register today!
  2. via LIVE STREAM around the world - Live stream participants will login to access the event from their computer and interact with the instructor.

This live stream course is offered twice, once on July 16 and again on July 17:
OPTION 1: July 16, 2021 is from 8am – 11:15am CDT

(9am – 12:15pm EDT, 7am – 10:15am MDT, 6am – 9:15am PDT)
OPTION 2: July 17, 2021 is from 12pm – 3:15pm CDT
(1pm – 4:15pm EDT, 11am – 2:15pm MDT, 10am – 1:15pm PDT)

Swallowing difficulties in pediatrics can have significant consequences to a child’s health and well-being as well as the overall quality of life for both the child and the family. A speech pathologist has a vital role on the multidisciplinary team to assess and provide appropriate intervention in this population. This intermediate level course will cover etiologies of pediatric swallowing disorders, the role of and interpretation of instrumental assessment with an emphasis on videofluoroscopic swallow studies and flexible endoscopic evaluation of the swallow, and the impact of evidenced based intervention on improving the quality of life and outcomes in pediatric patients with swallowing disorders. Specific topics covered will include medical diagnoses, appropriate referrals for instrumental assessment, strategies for completing instrumental assessment in the pediatric population, interpreting instrumental assessment results, developing patient-specific intervention approaches for saliva management and swallowing disorders, weaning thickened liquids, involving families and caregivers through the therapy process. Case studies and pertinent research will be included to support learning.

Course Level:
Intermediate
Assessment Methods: Q&A, Self-Assessment on Evaluation
For events that are Live Streamed, the streaming participants will verify attendance through codes given throughout course and complete a multiple choice quiz (80% passing score) and evaluation at the end.

Course Objectives

Upon successful completion of this course, participants will be able to:

  • Evaluate etiology of pediatric swallowing disorders
  • Make appropriate instrumental swallow referrals and develop a treatment plan based on instrumental assessment findings
  • Explain rationale for diet modifications and compensatory strategies based on instrumental assessment findings
  • Describe how evidenced based therapeutic intervention can improve quality of life for children with swallowing disorders

Allison Brown

Allison Tidwell Brown, MS, CCC-SLP, BCS-S, is a Speech Language Pathologist and Board-Certified Specialist in Swallowing and Swallowing Disorders. Her clinical focus is with infant feeding, GI, saliva management, and instrumental assessment of the swallow including VFSS. She has helped develop several programs and clinics including a multidisciplinary saliva management program. She is a lead outpatient feeding therapist for Children's Health in Dallas, TX. Allison also teaches a graduate course in Pediatric Dysphagia at the University of Texas at Dallas.

Financial Disclosure: Allison receives an honorarium from CIAO for the presentation of her live courses. She also receives royalties for the sale of her online courses.
Non-Financial Disclosure: no relevant disclosures.

Day 1

07:58 - 07:59
OPTION 1: July 16 Live Stream will begin at 8am Central, 9am Eastern, 7am Mountain, 6am Pacific (This course repeats on July 17th.)
08:00 - 08:05
Introduction and objectives
08:05 - 08:25
Etiology and prevalence of pediatric swallowing disorders
08:25 - 08:40
Multidisciplinary management
08:40 - 09:10
Instrumental assessment
09:10 - 09:30
Diet compensations and strategies based on dysfunction
09:30 - 09:50
Interpreting instrumental assessment results
09:50 - 10:05
Break
10:05 - 10:30
Developing and implementing a treatment plan
10:30 - 10:50
Case studies
10:50 - 11:15
Conclusion and wrap-up
11:58 - 11:59
OPTION 2: July 17 Live Stream will begin at 12pm Central, 1pm Eastern, 11am Mountain, 10am Pacific (This course is a repeat of July 16th.)
12:00 - 12:05
Introduction and objectives
12:05 - 12:25
Etiology and prevalence of pediatric swallowing disorders
12:25 - 12:40
Multidisciplinary management
12:40 - 01:10
Instrumental assessment
01:10 - 01:30
Diet compensations and strategies based on dysfunction
01:30 - 01:50
Interpreting instrumental assessment results
01:50 - 02:05
Break
02:05 - 02:30
Developing and implementing a treatment plan
02:30 - 02:50
Case studies
02:50 - 03:15
Conclusion and wrap-up

Delivery VIA:

  • Live Stream - This course is offered from our Live Stream studio. Watch and interact with the instructor from wherever you are or join us as part of the studio audience in sunny Gulf Breeze, FL.

Contact hours pre-approved for:

  • 3 Hours
  • CIAO is an ASHA Approved Provider #AAWA (0.3 ASHA CEUs) bubble sheet submission required
  • ASHA CE Provider Approval and use of the Brand Block does not imply endorsement of course content, specific products, or clinical procedures.


Intermediate Level
0.3 ASHA CEUs


Reviews

This is a new course, there are currently no reviews. Please check back. Thank you and have a great day, CIAO!